Published on January 21, 2016

St. Mary's Medical Center Is Among Top 5% of Hospitals in Clinical Outcomes in Nation According to Healthgrades

St. Mary's Medical Center announced today that it has received the Healthgrades 2016 Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence™. This distinction puts St. Mary's Medical Center in the top five percent of more than 4,500 hospitals nationwide for its clinical performance as measured by Healthgrades.  Healthgrades is the leading online resource for comprehensive information about physicians and hospitals. St. Mary’s is part of Ascension, the nation’s largest Catholic and non-profit health system.

“We are honored to be recognized among the top hospitals in the nation for our clinical performance and the care we provide to patients. This recognition by a respected organization like Healthgrades is a testament to the hard work, dedication and contributions of every St. Mary’s associate and member of our medical staff,” said Keith Jewell, President of St. Mary’s Health.  “We value the trust our patients and their loved ones place in us as we continue to deliver exceptional healthcare and a superior patient experience, the St. Mary’s experience.”

Nationally, 260 hospitals out of 1,485 eligible hospitals were recognized as recipients of the Distinguished Hospital for Clinical Excellence Award. St. Mary's is among the top five percent of hospitals in the nation with high quality care across at least 21 of 32 common inpatient conditions and procedures, as evaluated by Healthgrades. * In the Evansville, Indiana and Kentucky area, St. Mary’s is the only hospital recognized as a recipient of the Distinguished Hospital for Clinical Excellence Award.

“When it comes to hospital selection, two of the most important questions to consider are where you are most likely to have a complication-free hospital stay and which hospital offers the best chance of survival, both during the hospital stay and in the weeks that follow,” said Evan Marks, Chief Strategy Officer, Healthgrades. “Selecting a hospital that has achieved Healthgrades 2016 Distinguished Hospital for Clinical Excellence award is one way to be confident that you will receive the right care.”

The 260 recipients of the Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence™ stand out among the rest for overall clinical excellence across a broad spectrum of care. During the 2016 study period (2012-2014), these hospitals showed superior performance in clinical outcomes for patients in the Medicare population across at least 21 of 32 of the most common inpatient conditions and procedures —as measured by objective performance data (risk-adjusted mortality and in-hospital complications). To learn more about how Healthgrades determines Distinguished Hospital Award for Clinical Excellence™ recipients, please visit

*Area evaluated refers to Core Based Statistical Area (CBSA)


Your secure, online medical connection.

Log In

In QuickerIn Quicker

Wait at home. Check in to Urgent Care right now.

Check In

  • Pay My Bill

    Pay a hospital and provider bill online.

  • Make a Donation

    Interested in giving? Make a donation or learn more about ways to give.